Seamus O'Regan

Your member of parliament for

St. John's South-Mount Pearl

Seamus O'Regan

Your member of parliament for

St. John's South-Mount Pearl


Third Annual Local Hero Awards Honour Community Service

The awards were presented to 10 recipients from St. John’s South – Mount Pearl who were chosen based on their meaningful contributions to the community through volunteerism and public service.

Saturday, June 15, 2019

MOUNT PEARL – Today, the Honourable Seamus O’Regan, M.P. for St. John’s South—Mount Pearl, hosted the 3rd annual Local Heroes Award ceremony.

The awards were presented to 10 recipients from St. John’s South – Mount Pearl who were chosen based on their meaningful contributions to the community through volunteerism and public service.

This year’s recipients have touched the lives of many in our community, from Eg Walters and the Community Food Sharing Association, to the late Neveah Denine whose courageous battle with cancer was an inspiration to so many.

Other recipients include supporters of churches and service clubs, nursing, girl guides, the Canadian Hard of Hearing Association and the Mount Pearl Frosty Festival, to name but a few. Together, they are making our community a better place to live.

M.P. O’Regan presented each recipient with a certificate and a personalized plaque to celebrate their remarkable contributions.


“Newfoundlanders and Labradorians are always there to help one another. Whether it means coming together to restock the food bank after a fire, helping the hearing impaired, or making lemonade to help beat cancer, we come together for those in need. Each of this year’s recipients embodies the spirit of a local hero, and we are all so lucky to call them our neighbours.” – Hon. Seamus O’Regan, M.P. St. John’s South—Mount Pearl

Quick facts

  • 10 recipients were chosen from community nominations for this year’s awards.
  • Each plaque bears the iconic Caribou emblem of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, which was the inspiration for the first annual local heroes award ceremony marking the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Beaumont Hamel.
  • Approximately 100 people attended the awards ceremony at the Church of the Good Shepherd in Mount Pearl.

Learn More

For more information, visit or call 709-772-4608.




Eg Walters, Tina Bishop and the Community Food Sharing Association

Made up of 6 employees, including Eg Walters and Tina Bishop pictured here, the Community Food Sharing Association provides food to 54 food banks across Newfoundland and Labrador. Last year when their warehouse was destroyed by fire, the team at the CFSA rallied together and restocked their shelves thanks to help from the community. Last year the CFSA distributed $18 million worth of food across the province.

Neveah Denine

When Neveah was diagnosed with cancer, she started a lemonade stand to raise money for sick children just like her. She raised over $300,000 to help families right here in NL. Although she tragically passed away in August 2018, her actions and legacy remain an inspiration to us all. Her Grandfather John Denine accepted the award on behalf of the Denine family.

Leanna Rowe

Born completely deaf, she received cochlear implants and went on to become a registered nurse. She has been actively involved with the Canadian Hard of Hearing Association as a client, a volunteer, an employee and now a director on their board. She currently serves as President of the CHHA Young Adults Network where she aims to show others like her that you can overcome hearing impairment.

Ron Fitzpatrick

Ron has worked tirelessly to help those struggling with mental health and addiction issues. He served as the executive director of Turnings until 2016 where he worked on the front lines helping former offenders integrate back into society by providing them with supports and counselling.

Barb Howlett

One of the most well-known figures in the Goulds, Barb has served on the school council, volunteered with St. Paul’s and St. Kevin’s churches, and even served on Goulds Town Council. She has also spent a remarkable 60 years volunteering with the girl guides.

Patricia Janes

Patricia Janes has spent 40 years volunteering with the Girl Guides of Canada and helping out at St. Peter’s Parish. In that time, she has helped more than 1000 girls learn life skills through guiding.

Jim Greenland

Jim is a well-known volunteer in Mount Pearl. He chaired the Frosty Festival for 7 years. He is also well known for chairing the Children’s Wish Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador for 9 years and serving on the Board of Directors for another 17, for a remarkable 26 years of total service.

Jackie Connolly

Jackie is a nurse that volunteers with Team Broken Earth. She is also a big promoter of a clean community and organizes community clean ups in Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove. She is an active volunteer in her community and can always be called upon when something is needed. Jackie has her finger on the pulse from Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove to Haiti.

Barbara Predham

Barbara is known to many people in Mount Pearl as she volunteers with a number of organizations. She organizes the Frosty Festival jigs dinner every year and is an active member of the Ladies Auxiliary of the Knights of Columbus. She is most well known for being one of the founding members of the Mount Pearl Figure Skating Club and as chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Skating Association. She helped shaped figure skating in Mount Pearl and across the province.

Jean Hanley

Jean worked at Vera Perlin for 39 years. After retiring she continued as a volunteer on the board of directors and served as the treasurer. She still serves on the board at the age of 96. Mrs. Hanley has a total of 57 years of service with Vera Perlin.